Section 2.—Provincial Governments.

Table 12 gives the names and areas, as in 1934, of the several provinces, territories and provisional districts of the Dominion, together with the dates of their creation or admission into the Confederation and the legislative process by which this was effected.

12.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected.

Province,	Date of Admission or Creation.			Legislative Process.	Present Area (square miles).		
Territory or District.					Land.	Fresh Water.	Total.
Ontario. Quebec. Nova Scotia. New Brunswick. Manitoba. British Columbia. P. E. Island. Saskatchewan. Alberta. Yukon. Mackenzie. Keewatin. Franklin.	" " " Sept. " June Jan.	1, 1, 1, 15, 20, 1, 1, 1, 13, 1, 1, 1,	1871 1873 1905 1905	(30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870 Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871 Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873 Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42) Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3). Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6)	523,534 20,743 27,710 219,723 359,279 2,184 237,975 248,800	49,300 71,000 ² 325 275 26,789 6,976 - 13,725 6,485 1,730 34,265 9,700 7,500	412,5821 594,534 21,068 27,985 246,512 ³ 366,255 2,184 255,285 ⁴ 207,076 527,490 ⁵ 228,160 ⁵ 554,032 ⁵
				Totals	3,466,793	228,070	3,694,863

¹The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40). ²Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400

of the award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland. ³Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32). ⁴Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. ⁵By an Order in Council of June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Terri-tories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

In each of the provinces the King is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council, and governs with the advice and assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body. The Legislatures of all the provinces with the exception of Quebec are now unicameral.* consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. For detailed description of the Provincial Governments, the reader is referred to pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

The Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, together with the names of the Ministers of the present administrations, are given in Table 13. Details regarding Provincial Legislatures and Ministries from Confederation to 1924 were given on pp. 75-84 of the 1924 Year Book.

*The Legislative Council of Nova Scotia ceased to exist in 1928.